Collection of late nineteenth-century stone and frame buildings constructed when the U.S. Army administered the park, now serving as park headquarters.
General Information
Fort Yellowstone was a U.S. Army fort, established in 1891 at Mammoth Hot Springs in Yellowstone National Park. The army originally called the post Camp Sheridan in honor of General Sheridan but the name was changed to Fort Yellowstone in 1891 when construction of the permanent fort commenced. The army administered the park until 1918 when it was transferred to the newly created National Park Service. The facilities of Fort Yellowstone now comprise the Yellowstone National Park headquarters, the Horace Albright Visitor Center and staff accommodations.
Between the years 1891 and 1913, a total of 60 structures were erected at Fort Yellowstone, of which 35 were still in existence one hundred years later. . Many of the structures from the later construction period are now used as administrative offices, residences for National Park Service employees, museums and visitor center.
This article uses material from the Wikipedia article "Fort Yellowstone", which is released under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share-Alike License 3.0